Ongoing Project

I’m working on a manuscript for a YA novel and it is currently in the toddler phase. The story is all there, it may even be able to walk on its own, but it’s still clumsy and unintelligible at times. Writing something like this is a daunting task, especially if you’ve never done it before. (Feel free to refer back to the toddler metaphor.) Every once in a while you need to take a break. Do something else.

So as a way to maintain my minor grip on reality and keep my drawing skills honed, I’ve decided to illustrate scenes from my story. I don’t expect these to end up in the book and this is not a graphic novel. This is just me stepping away from the keyboard.

Here is my view of the opening page of the novel. Consider it a picture in a baby book.

Without averting my gaze, I drew an arrow from my quiver, nocked it on the bowstring and waited.

2 comments on “Ongoing Project

  1. Liz Wong says:

    This is really gorgeous!

  2. Mary McKenzie says:

    Looks beautiful with the color completely done.

Leave a Reply

